While some divorced parents welcome any kind of involvement in the lives of their children, sometimes one parent decides to isolate him or herself entirely from an ex spouse. Sometimes, the noncustodial parent who pays child support may decide to stop paying altogether. All parents are required to support their children financially, but when one parent decides to cut off support, the children ultimately suffer. Recently, a rule was implemented in the state of Texas that is proving to be an effective tool in collecting child support payments from delinquent parents.
The recently implemented rule prevents parents from registering a vehicle if they have unpaid child support. According to statistics, the new rule generated about $1.17 in child support payments since being implemented. Officials say the highest single payment received so far has been $54,000.
According to officials, the hold on an automobile registration renewal is released as soon as payment arrangements are made. The purpose of the new rule is not to punish parents, but to obtain the required financial support for children, officials say. As a result, children all over the state of Texas are receiving the benefits of the financial support that is required by state laws.
All parents have a legal responsibility to support their dependant children. Failure to pay child support in the state of Texas can have some serious consequences, including jail time in some circumstances. Texas parents who have questions or need guidance regarding child support could greatly benefit from seeking the services of an experienced Board Certified Family Law Specialist family law attorney.
Source: Houston Chronicle, “Rule denying car registration to parents who don’t pay child support generates $1.17 million“, Fernando Ramirez, April 10, 2017